Al Farabi KazNU

Al-Farabi Kazakh National University is the leading higher education institution of the Republic of Kazakhstan, named after the great philosopher of the East - Abu Nasyr ibn Al-Farabi. Nowadays it is the largest educational and research center of the country.

KazNU, the history of which began in 1934, is constantly improving its position in the world education system. Its general direction of development is adoption of international education standards. The University has rich educational, scientific, spiritual, educational, innovative and production potential aimed at training of specialists of the highest qualification, further integration into the global educational space, development of fundamental and applied research, and their implementation into production.

The university has 14 faculties, 59 departments, 8 research institutes and a technology park. Over 2 000 professors, doctors and candidates of science and PhDs work in the University. Over 20 000 students study at the multilevel system of higher professional education in the university. KazNU has multilevel education system including higher basic education (bachelor’s degree), higher professional education (master’s degree), postgraduate and doctoral studies. Admission to KazNU is provided by state educational grants and on contractual basis. The University provides training in more than 180 specialties.

Nowadays the University has:

– A unique campus with a land area of 100 hectares;

– 14 academic buildings with a total floor area of over 264 000 square meters, including lecture blocks;

– 13 dormitories totaling 80,000 square meters in floor area;

– Sports and recreational buildings and structures, stadiums;

– Students’ Palace with 1,537 seats;

– The largest university dining hall, a trade center and a cinema;

– Modern facilities and adequate resources to provide high-quality education services and effective implementation of research processes.

There are 14 faculties featured in Al-Farabi KazNU:

  • Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology
  • Faculty of Oriental Studies
  • Faculty of Geography and Nature Management
  • Faculty of Journalism
  • Faculty of History, Archeology and Ethnology
  • Faculty of International Relations
  • Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics
  • Faculty of Physics and Technology
  • High School of Economics and Business
  • Faculty of Philology, Literary Studies and World Languages
  • Faculty of Philosophy and Political Science
  • Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Technology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty for Pre-University Education

There are 8 scientific research institutes in natural fields:

  • Institute of Experimental and Theoretical Physics
  • The National Laboratory of Nanotechnology
  • Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics
  • Institute of Problems of Biology and Biotechnology
  • Institute of Ecology Problems
  • Institute of New Chemical Technologies and Materials
  • Centre for Physical Chemistry Methods and Analysis
  • Scientific Technology Park and The Laboratory of Engineering Profile, 25 institutes and centers in social-humanitarian fields.